The Multi Academy Trust Members

The members of the Multi Academy Trust enter into the funding agreement with the Secretary of State and are legally responsible both to the Secretary of State and to parents and pupils for the running of the Academy Trust and the academies within the Trust. They are also responsible for holding the directors to account for the running of the Trust.
The functions of the members of the Academy Trust include:

  • Overseeing the achievement of the objectives of the company
  • Taking part in annual and extraordinary general meetings
  • Appointing and/or removing directors
  • Appointing the auditors
  • Signing off the company’s financial accounts and annual report
  • Power to amend the Articles of the company or close the company

There are six Members of the Diocese of Coventry Multi Academy Trust:

The Bishop of Coventry - The Right Reverend Dr Christopher Cocksworth

Christopher Cocksworth read Theology at the University of Manchester. After teaching RS and Economics in secondary education, he trained for ordination and pursued doctoral studies. Dr Cocksworth has served in parochial and chaplaincy ministry and in theological education, latterly as Principal of Ridley Hall, Cambridge. In 2010 he was awarded an honorary degree of Doctor of Divinity by the University of London for his services to education. He has written a number of books and articles in the area of Christian theology and worship with his last book, Holding Together: Gospel, Church and Spirit being short listed for the 2011 Michael Ramsey Prize. His latest book, Seeing Jesus and being seen by Him is SPCK’s Lent Book for 2015.

Bishop Christopher is Co-Chair of the Joint Implementation Commission of the Anglican-Methodist Covenant, and is Chair of the Faith and Order Commission of the Church of England. He entered the House of Lords in January 2013 where he contributes on international matters, education and ethics of beginning and end of life; he also seeks to give voice to life on the ground in Coventry and Warwickshire. Christopher is married to Charlotte and they have five sons, two daughters-in-law, and an eighteen-month old granddaughter. Among his hobbies, is organic fruit and vegetable gardening, and although a latecomer this is increasingly becoming quite a passion.

The Diocesan Board of Education - represented by Canon Linda Wainscot (Diocesan Director of Education)

Linda is the Diocesan Director of Education responsible for 75 Schools across the Diocese. Currently the Diocese has over 80% of the Schools which are good or outstanding. Linda has been at the forefront of the Diocese of Coventry Multi Academy Trust from its inception and continues to advise the National Society on issues around Academies.

Linda has over 35 years’ experience in a variety of educational contexts with teaching and leadership experience in Secondary, Primary, Teacher training and Further Education. As DDE, Linda serves on the National Executive Committee of the Association of Anglican Directors of Education.

The Chair of the Diocesan Board of Education - The Reverend Elaine Scrivens

Elaine is a former teacher and school chaplain. She is passionate about education and the role Church schools play.She is particularly interested in SIAMS and Collective Worship.

The Bishop's Nominee - Mrs Ruth Marlow

Ruth was born and brought up in Sheffield before going to the University of Birmingham where she studied biological sciences and geography. After completing her degree Ruth moved to Nottingham and joined Nottingham City Council where she worked in the council’s Housing Department. In 1985 Ruth qualified as a member of the Chartered Institute of Housing. Ruth continued her career in Housing over the next twelve years, before becoming the Chief Executive of North Kesteven District Council in Lincolnshire and then Managing Director of Mansfield District Council. In these roles Ruth focused on organisational development and service improvement as well as staff training and development. She qualified as an Executive Coach and Leadership Mentor in 2010.In 2014 Ruth became a trustee of TNT – Transforming Notts Together – a member of the CUF Together Network. Here her keen interest in housing and homelessness issues were put to good use in helping to establish and develop TNT’s cold weather night shelter project in Mansfield. In September 2016 Ruth was appointed as the Diocesan Secretary for the Diocese of Coventry.

The Chair of the Diocese of Coventry Multi Academy Trust - Mr Peter Law

Peter is a retired solicitor and local government lawyer. Peter is a Founder, Trustee and the Chairman of South Warwickshire Plato Trust which provides housing for persons recovering from mental illness. Peter worked with in private practice for a number of years before bringing his property experience to head up Leicestershire’s conveyance department.Peter has been involved in the conversion of a number of schools to academies within Leicestershire and brings and enormous amount of legal expertise, especially around property.

The Chair of the Diocesan Board of Education Business Committee - Mrs Sybil Hanson

Sybil has a mathematics degree from Manchester University and has been teaching since 1961. After moving to Coventry she spent 25 years at Blue Coat CofE School, initially as Head of Mathematics and later as Deputy Head from 1977. Sybil retired from teaching in 1997 and became a Diocesan Board of Education member, setting up a DBE Visitor Scheme to support all the Diocesan church schools.Sybil has been involved with school governance since 1997 including the role of chair at two of our Diocesan church schools. She is currently vice chair at St John’s CofE Academy. Sybil also represents the DBE on on Coventry City Education & Children’s Scrutiny Board, both Coventry and Warwickshire School Forums and is chair Coventry School Forum

Members Appointments

  Member Date Appointed
  Bishop Christopher Cocksworth 27-02-2013
  Linda Wainscot 27-02-2013
  Sybil Hanson 12-02-2016
   Ruth Marlow 12-12-2016
  Elaine Scrivens 03-04-2017
  Peter Law 17-07-2017

Members Resignations

  Member Date Appointed Date Resigned
   James Kennedy 27-02-2013 01-12-2014
   Rex Pogson 27-02-2013 12-02-2016
  Simon Lloyd 27-02-2013 29-04-2016
  Simon Ramshaw 12-02-2016 29-03-2017
  John Green 14-12-2015 17-07-2017

Declarations of Interest

   Director Pecuniary and
Business Interests
Educational Establishments Relationships Date of Declaration
  John Green   None Declared   None Declared   None Declared                       27-02-2017
   Ruth Marlow   Diocesan Secretary,
- Diocesan Board
  of Finance

  Trustee - Coventry Diocesan 

  Trustee - Together for 
  Change Coventry and

  Director  - Ruth Marlow Ltd

  Trustee - Transforming Notts

  Linda Wainscot   None Declared  Diocesan Director of  
 Education,  employee 
 Coventry Diocesan Board
 of Education (Sponsor)
 Company Secretary -
 Diocesan Board of Education

 Director - Inspire Education Trust

 None Declared 17-10-16

Persons with Significant Control (PSC)

  • Coventry Diocesan Board of Education (RLE)
  • The Bishop of Coventry in a corporate role (RLE)
© Copyright 2018 Coventry MATWeb Design By Toolkit Websites